Jeffrey LewisMcElvany 2009 Nonproliferation Challenge

The good folks at the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies are sponsoring the second annual Doreen and Jim McElvany 2009 Nonproliferation Challenge Essay Contest.

Doreen and Jim McElvany 2009 Nonproliferation Challenge Essay Contest

In order to spur new thinking and policy initiatives to address today’s most urgent proliferation threats, the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies and its journal, the Nonproliferation Review, are sponsoring an essay contest to identify and publish the most outstanding new scholarly papers and reports in the nonproliferation field. Our priority is to generate new insights and specific recommendations for resolving today’s nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons challenges, including those involving both state and non-state actors.

The contest features a $10,000 grand prize and a $1,000 prize for the most outstanding student essay (students are eligible to win the grand prize).

Entries should not exceed 10,000 words (including endnotes) and must be the original, unpublished work of the author(s) and not under consideration for publication elsewhere. The submission deadline is May 15, 2009.

Complete contest rules and instructions can be found at

Last year’s winners — Ward Wilson (Grand Prize) and Russel Leslie (Most Outstanding Student Essay) — were both readers and frequent commentators on the blog. Let’s see if the Arms Control Wonk community can’t produce another pair of winners.


  1. Cristina Hansell (History)

    Thanks so much for posting the announcement. We look forward to many interesting entries. I would just like to point out that in addition to Russell Leslie, Grégoire Mallard, who just completed his doctorate in sociology at Princeton University, was also awarded the student prize. Additionally, Nathan Pyles, president of Johnson Health NA in Wisconsin, earned a $1,000 first runner-up prize for his submission, “Creating a Nuclear-Free World: A Challenge to Accept.” All of these essays will be published soon in the Nonproliferation Review, for your reading pleasure (and comments on armscontrolwonk, I trust!)


    Thanks to Jeffrey for the heads up on the competition and Stephen Schwartz and Cat Auer for making the editing process painless.

    I still feel slightly embarrassed to win a student prize after working in the field for 20 years.
    Also minor point, “Russell” has two “ll“s.