Jeffrey LewisImplementing the New Triad

Wednesday and Thursday, I will blog from the 36th IPFA-Fletcher conference on national security strategy and policy, entitled Nuclear and Non-Nuclear Forces in 21st -Century Deterrence: Implementing the New Triad.

The conference is organized by the Institute for Foreign Policy Analysis (IPFA) and the International Security Studies Program of the Fletcher School, Tufts University.

STRATCOM, NNSA, OSD (P) and DTRA are co-sponsors, and the Conference has the speaker list to prove it—Linton Brooks, Steve Cambone, Hoss Cartwright, J.D. Crouch, Ryan Henry, Trey Obering and Keith Payne, to name a few.

You can check out the conference website and agenda.


  1. dan (History)

    What was the old triad? Did it, too, only have two components (nuclear and non-nuclear)? Is this like the 5 cities of the Quad Cities?

  2. UB

    The Triad consists of land based ICBMs, sea based SLBMs, and the land based bomber force.

  3. dan (History)

    meet the new triad, same as the old triad? Or are we scrapping some of the above?

  4. A different Dan (History)

    The New Triad involves:
    1. Offensive systems (nuclear and conventional)
    2. Defensive systems
    3. Responsive Infrastructure

    All held together by adaptive planning.
    “A Quiet Revolution: The New Nuclear Triad”, Strategic Insights, Volume I, Issue 3 (May 2002)
    by James Russell and James J. Wirtz
    is a good read on the subject.